John Meyer Receives Silver Medal Award from the Audio Engineering Society

John Meyer, CEO and co-founder of Meyer Sound Laboratories, was honored with the Audio Engineering Society's Silver Medal Award at this year's AES Convention in New York City. The award was given in recognition of Meyer's "outstanding achievement in source independent measurement of public address systems and the advancement of quality in sound reinforcement."

Formerly known as the Emile Berliner Award, the AES Silver Medal honors those whose work represents exceptional developments or achievements in the field of audio engineering. Prior recipients include audio pioneers such as John Mullin, Robert Moog, Ray Dolby, and James A. (Andy) Moorer.

"It's a true honor to receive this award from an organization dedicated to the advancement of standards in audio," said Meyer. "Special thanks should also be given to Stanford University's CCRMA group headed by Dr. John Chowning, as well as to Dr. Elizabeth Cohen, and Dr. Julius Smith, whose contributions to this work were essential."

The Silver Medal marks the third official AES recognition of Meyer Sound's two co-founders. John Meyer was chosen a Fellow of the AES in 1985, and company Executive Vice President and Co-founder Helen Meyer, received a Citation in 1999 for her unique contributions to the audio industry.


The AVNetwork staff are storytellers focused on the professional audiovisual and technology industry. Their mission is to keep readers up-to-date on the latest AV/IT industry and product news, emerging trends, and inspiring installations.