NSCA Honors Members

  • At yesterday’s NSCA Member Meeting and President’s Reception, NSCA paid tribute to individuals and companies who continually support and represent the commitment NSCA members have to the industry and the association.
  • Loyd Ivey, founder and CEO of Mitek Corporation, received NSCA’s Per Haugen Lifetime Achievement Award for his years of dedication, leadership and service to NSCA, including the NSCA Education Foundation Board and the NSCA Expo Committee, and as a champion to many of NSCA’s events and activities.
  • The 2009 Volunteer of the Year award was awarded to Steve Emspak, managing partner at Shen Milsom & Wilke. A strong advocate for NSCA for many years, he has participated on the NSCA Industry Advisory Board. His involvement with the NSCA Education Foundation has created opportunities for development of the next generation of system integrators through events and sponsorships of Foundation activities, including the annual industry concert headlined by the Drunk Unkles, an industry blues band in which Emspak plays guitar.
  • Dan Erickson, vice president at General Communications in Manassas, VA, received the 2008 NSCA Educator of the Year award. Erickson received NSCA’s top education award based on student feedback from his course Networking Issues that Impact AV Integrators and Designers.
  • Awards were also presented to instructors of the year within each college of NSCA University, including Karl Rosenberg, David Marsh, Marc Forman, Brad Nelson and Ben Wilson.

The AVNetwork staff are storytellers focused on the professional audiovisual and technology industry. Their mission is to keep readers up-to-date on the latest AV/IT industry and product news, emerging trends, and inspiring installations.