AVI-SPL’s Executive Chairman Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award - AvNetwork.com

AVI-SPL’s Executive Chairman Honored with Lifetime Achievement Award

Publish date:

TAMPA, FL-Martin Schaffel, executive chairman for AVI-SPL, was recently recognized with the Distinguished Alumnus Entrepreneur of the Year award in lifetime achievement from the University of Florida (UF).

Schaffel was among those honored on Thursday, April 23, as the university paid tribute to successful entrepreneurs and business students during their S. Clark Butler Entrepreneur Awards, held at the Hilton UF Conference Center. Schaffel graduated from UF with both a BS in Business Administration and a BA in Public Administration.

Schaffel founded legacy company Audio Visual Innovations, Inc. (AVI) in 1979 in Lakeland, FL. Corporate headquarters were moved to Tampa in 1981. Having grown the organization to 20 offices nationwide, Schaffel led AVI and it top competitor, Signal Perfection Ltd. (SPL), into a merger in April 2008. The merger was supported by equity financing from Silver Lake Sumeru, the middle-market group of Silver Lake, the leading investment firm focused on technology-driven growth industries.

Today, AVI-SPL is the largest global integrator for audio video technology, comprehensive audiovisual solutions, and managed conferencing systems and services, with over 1,400 employees and revenues approaching half a billion dollars. “It’s important to change and grow to survive,” said Schaffel. “An entrepreneur must be able to sell his vision to his employees, turn entrepreneurs loose inside their business, and work to help others to succeed, as this will help to make you successful.”

In addition to this latest achievement, Schaffel is also affiliated with numerous industry-related organizations. He is on the Board of the Tampa Bay Performing Arts Center, the Board of Directors for North Star Bank in Tampa, Berkeley Preparatory School, and the Executive Committee of the Center for Entrepreneurship at the University of Florida -College of Business. He also guest lectures at the University of Florida, and is on the Board of Directors of Prospect Smarter and DataPros for Healthcare, two Tampa-based technology firms.



AVI-SPL Achieves InfoComm International Diamond AVSP Level Designation

TAMPA, FL--AVI-SPL announced that it has qualified as an InfoComm International Diamond AudioVisual Solutions Provider (AVSP). This designation recognizes that a percentage of the company’s sales, customer service and technical staff have achieved and maintained individual InfoComm Certification and have completed rel

AVI-SPL Awarded Contract for Virginia

Tampa, FL-- AVI-SPL has been awarded a 2-year contract to supply AV services for the Commonwealth of Virginia.   Virginia Information Technologies Agency (VITA) selected AVI-SPL to function as a one-stop-shop for AV solutions with Virginia's public organizations. AVI-SPL will provide catalogs that feature a full ran

AVI and SPL Complete Merger

Audio Visual Innovations, Inc. and Signal Perfection, Ltd. (SPL) announced today that the companies have merged to form AVI-SPL, establishing the largest provider of global audio video systems and integration services.

AVI-SPL Achieves Cisco ATP Designation

AVI-SPL announced that it has achieved TelePresence Video Master Authorized Technology Provider (ATP) status from Cisco . This designation recognizes AVI-SPL as having fulfilled the training requirements and program prerequisites to sell, deploy and support Cisco TelePresence Video products and solutions at the M

Image placeholder title

AVI-SPL President Retires

TAMPA, FL—AVI-SPL president Stephenie Scanlon retired in September, but she plans to remain with the company as a consultant for special projects and initiatives.

Peavey Receives MIPA Lifetime Achievement Award

FRANKFURT, GERMANY--Music-and-audio innovator Hartley Peavey received the 2010 MIPA Hall of Fame Lifetime Achievement Award, the highest honor in the global music-products industry, at the Musikmesse International Press Awards in Frankfurt, Germany, on March 25. Chosen by the votes of more than 100 magazines worldwid