Sennheiser Founder Inducted Into CE Hall Of Fame

LAS VEGAS, NV--Audio pioneer Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser was inducted into the Consumer Electronics Association(r) (CEA) Hall of Fame for his contributions to the advancement of the consumer electronics industry. The founder of headphone and microphone manufacturer Sennheiser electronic GmbH & Co. KG was one of twelve distinguished industry leaders honored this year at the ninth annual Consumer Electronics Hall of Fame awards ceremony, held
October 21, 2008 at the Four Seasons Hotel in Las Vegas.

Daniel Sennheiser, grandson of the founder, accepted the honor on behalf of Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser (96), who was unable to travel from Germany. "Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser is honored to be recognized so strongly by the American consumer electronics industry," said Daniel Sennheiser, director of strategic innovation at Sennheiser. "My grandfather has created and enabled new and interesting technologies that have helped shape our world. He remains a great source of inspiration for our business and continues to support Sennheiser's commitment to developing even more exciting, innovative products."

Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser was chosen by the expert jury in the category "Founders and Inventors." Under his management, the family-owned company designed many important innovations. These included the shotgun microphone in the 1950s, open-back headphones in the 1960s, infrared transmission technology in the 1970s, and revolutionary developments in multi-channel wireless technology in the early 1980s.

Volker Bartels, speaker of the Sennheiser executive team, said: "Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser's motto was to allow his developers to give free rein to their creative ideas, no matter how crazy they might seem. And his staff translated this freedom and trust into innovative audio solutions."

Since the founding of the CE Hall of Fame in 2000, the panel of industry experts has selected new honorees each year. Prof. Dr. Fritz Sennheiser joins impressive company in 2008, capturing the incredible honor alongside such industry greats as David and Jewel Abt of Abt Electronics; Martin Cooper and Donald Linder, who together developed the first mobile phone; and Warren Lieberfarb, the "Father of DVD." Past honorees include such inventors and scientists as Thomas Edison and Alexander Graham Bell.

Gary Shapiro, president and CEO of CEA, praised the 2008 inductees during the Consumer Electronics Association's (CEA) Industry Forum in Las Vegas: "The energy and commitment of these Hall of Fame inductees is behind the
phenomenal growth and strength of our industry. And now, their great contributions are influencing a new generation of innovators to continue our success," he said.

The AVNetwork staff are storytellers focused on the professional audiovisual and technology industry. Their mission is to keep readers up-to-date on the latest AV/IT industry and product news, emerging trends, and inspiring installations.