Tim Hansen Receives ESTA’s Highest Honor

  • NEW YORK, NY -- ESTA announces the 2008 Eva Swan Award was presented to Tim Hansen, for his exceptional service to the Association over many years. The award was presented at ESTA’s Annual Dinner on Thursday, October 23rd in Las Vegas.
  • The award was presented by 2005 Swan recipient, Wally Blount, who had worked closely with Tim in several areas, including the development of the Entertainment Technician Certification Program (ETCP). Wally spoke movingly about how retirement has given him the perspective to understand that what really matters is whether we have left the world a better place by our actions. He said there was absolutely no doubt that Tim has changed not only our association, but the entertainment technology industry, in significant ways through his tireless volunteerism.
  • Tim, who was strongly supported in his volunteer work by his employer Oasis Stage Werks in Salt Lake City, has been deeply involved in almost all facets of ESTA over the years. He served two terms on the ESTA Board of Directors and currently sits on the Executive Committee. Under the Technical Standards Program, he has been a member of the Rigging Working Group since 1999, was an original member of the Photometrics Working Group, and has been Chair of the Floors Working Group since its inception in 2000.
  • Tim's most lasting legacy however will undoubtedly be his work with ETCP. Tim served on and eventually co-chaired the committee that was the precursor to the ETCP Council. He served as a member of the small steering committee that created the structure for ETCP, and he has chaired the ETCP Council since its first meeting in September 2003. His strong leadership has been instrumental in bringing together the unprecedented group of industry organizations, businesses and individuals to create the program and in keeping them actively focused on its development.
  • “I am honored to be the 2008 recipient of the Eva Swan Award,” commented Tim. “To receive this recognition from your peers is truly a special honor. Everyone who has helped and supported me over the years, especially everyone at Oasis Stage Werks, also deserves a piece of the award. Thank you to ESTA for this very special award. It will always be the high point of my career, but certainly not the end point.”
  • The Eva Swan Award is presented to a member who has put forth exceptional efforts in time, expertise and personal resources on behalf of ESTA; been instrumental in shaping and promoting the strategic direction of the Association; made major contributions to the realization of the mission, goals and objectives; and enhanced the value of membership for all.

The AVNetwork staff are storytellers focused on the professional audiovisual and technology industry. Their mission is to keep readers up-to-date on the latest AV/IT industry and product news, emerging trends, and inspiring installations.