Steve Thorburn is the New President-Elect of TEA -

Steve Thorburn is the New President-Elect of TEA

Publish date:

BURBANK, CA--As confirmed today by the International Board of TEA (Themed Entertainment Association), the new president-elect of TEA is Steven J. Thorburn PE, CTS-D, CTS-I, principal of Thorburn Associates. Sitting president Nick Farmer will formally pass the president's gavel to Thorburn this November in Orlando, during the TEA members' meeting held annually at IAAPA, a major amusement industry trade show.

Thorburn, 46, is an active and visible participant within his industry. Altogether he has served as project manager and engineer on more than 2,000 projects, including the lead engineer role on four projects that received Thea Awards, and, as a lecturer in the field, logged more than 40,000 student hours. He has been a TEA member for 15 years, and has served on the TEA International Board as Treasurer for the past four years.

Thorburn's other association ties include the Large Format Cinema Association (five years on the Executive Committee) and ICIA/InfoComm (1996 Educator of the Year). He has had some 50 articles published in the trade media and writes a regular column for Systems Contractor News. Within his own company, Thorburn Associates (founded in 1992 with his wife, Lisa) Thorburn has fostered a service- and education-oriented culture and encourages his staff to continually advance in their professional development and training.

"It's an honor to have this vote of confidence from my colleagues at TEA," says Thorburn, "and I will justify that confidence through my actions as president. I believe I can make substantial contributions in several areas, especially in TEA's current efforts to grow the association and diversify its membership. And with four years' experience as TEA treasurer, I will also help keep us fiscally responsible."

Thorburn Associates…
The TEA…


Steve Metzger Assumes Presidency of Biamp Systems

BEAVERTON, OR--Biamp Systems announced that Steve Metzger is now president of the company. He follows Ralph Lockhart who retired last month after 25 years as president. In a recent note, Metzger congratulated Lockhart on his retirement, and praised him, saying, "The people within Biamp can't provide a thank you that

InfoComm Elects Board of Directors

Fairfax, VA-- InfoComm International has announced election results for the 2012 InfoComm International board of directors.   Johanne Belanger of AVW-TELAV has been elected secretary-treasurer, and Andrew Milne, Ph.D. of Tidebreak, Inc. and Jan Sandri of FSR, Inc. will serve two-year terms on the InfoComm board of di

CompTIA Elects New Chairman

Robert G. O'Malley, chief executive officer of InFocus Corp. of Wilsonville, Ore., will lead the Board of Directors of the Computing Technology Industry Association (CompTIA) in 2008 09. "These are exciting times for IT solution providers," O'Malley said. "I look

NSCA Announces New President and Additions to Board of Directors

CEDAR RAPIDS, IA--The NSCA Board of Directors recently changed leadership during its annual member meeting in June during InfoComm 2010. Taking over as president of the NSCA Board is Ron Pusey, president/CEO of Communications Specialists, Inc. Additionally, Ingolf de Jong, president of General Communications, Inc., ha