New President, Officers, and Directors for USITT

Carl H. Lefko of Christianburg, Virginia took office as president of the United States Institute for Theatre Technology (USITT) on July 1. Lefko, who has served the organization as vice-president for programming since 2002, had been president-elect.

Lefko is professor and chair of the Department of Theatre and Cinema at Radford University. A theatrical designer and educator, he has over two decades of experience, including designing for both film and stage. For USITT, Lefko served as president of the Southeast regional section, on the USITT Conference Committee, and on the USITT 21st Century Task Force which is working to reshape the organization at the same time it celebrates its 50-year history.

He will lead the 3,800 member organization of designers, managers, and technologists in performing arts and entertainment for the next two years.
Other officers who were elected and took office July 1 include Travis DeCastro of Penn State University, treasurer; and Michael Mehler of William & Mary College, vice president for programming. Re-elected officers are Bobbi Owen of University of North Carolina -- Chapel Hill, vice-president for communications; Holly Monsos of University of Toledo, vice-president for members, sections & chapters, and Daniel Denhart, of Ohio University, vice-president for special operations. All will serve two-year terms.

Directors at large, who will serve for three years, are Dan Culhane of Secoa, in Minneapolis, Minn.; Mary Heilman of California Institute of the Arts, David Krajec of Mainstage Theatrical Supply in Wisconsin, Carolyn Satter of San Diego Theatres, Inc., John S. Uthoff of Kansas State University, and Monica Weinzapfel of Radford University.


The AVNetwork staff are storytellers focused on the professional audiovisual and technology industry. Their mission is to keep readers up-to-date on the latest AV/IT industry and product news, emerging trends, and inspiring installations.